About Our Area
- Dutton Park
- East Brisbane
- Highgate Hill
- West End
Nestled in the 2-8 radius from the city the inner southside suburbs are a beautiful part of Brisbane which offer residents the opportunity to live in close proximity to the city in leafy & river precinct neighbourhoods close to all amenities. The area is characterised by charming Queenslanders, Post-War homes, brick and tile & chamferboard homes & 6 pack unit blocks built in the late 1960’s through to the 1980’s. More recently, the area has seen some Contemporary homes built and witnessed modern townhouse & unit complexes being constructed.
History of the Area:
In the Beginning:
In the early 1800’s, when the settlement of Moreton Bay area was starting the area south of the Brisbane River was known as “Bloggo”. This was later changed to “Boggo” due to the boggy nature of the tracks after rain.
Clarence Corner in South Brisbane was known as “One Mile Water Holes” being one mile from Brisbane Town. Boggo extended to Rocky Water Holes now known as Rocklea. Annerley Road was originally called Boggo Road and a bullock track is now known as Ipswich Road.
As this heavily timbered country became settled, areas were known as Dutton Park, Annerley, Fairfield, Yeronga, Yeerongpilly, Moorooka, Rocklea & Tennyson. Ekibin, Weller’s Hill and Tarragindi were settled later – all were in the Parish of Yeerongpilly.
The First Inhabitants:
Many tribes of Aborigines lived in this area. They hunted wallabies, possums & snakes and in the swampy water holes they found roots of ferns, bulbs of lilies and fresh water bulrushes that were edible. The many creeks and water-holes swarmed with fish, lobbies and bird life. One creek still exists today, Moolabin Creek being aborigine for “plenty of fish”.
The aborigines lived in this unspoilt virgin bush. They built humpies around their bora rings. There were beautiful surrounds with beds of ferns, orchids and crows’ nests in the trees, native birds and native animals. Bora Ring sites are known to exist at Tarragindi, Annerley (Hamlet St) & Moorooka (Reid’s Paddock).
According to early reports, Rocklea was a favourite hunting ground for tribes as there was an abundant supply of game that lived in the thick scrub, and fish & bird life in and around the Rocky Waterholes. A huge slab of rock towered above the waterholes which was used as a vantage point and look-out and apparently gave Rocklea it’s name.
When white man came to settle, aborigines could be seen living in the bush around Toohey Mountain, Tennyson and near the river bank in Yeronga. Elderley people of the area can also remember being taken as children to areas where, years before, celebrations, initiations and native entertainment had taken place.
As the first settlers arrived, mostly timber getters, the tribes moved to denser bush and the soft and melodic songs of birds and the sounds of native animals were replaced by the sound of axes, saws and bullock teams.
How the Areas Were Named:
Annerley: The district around the Junction of Boggo Road and Ipswich Road was named “Annerley”. The name originated from the township of Annerley in the English county of Surrey. It was suggested by Frank Digby Denham that Boggo Road be renamed Annerley Road. Frank Denham later became the Premier of Queensland (1911-13).
Bloggo: Aboriginal work for “two leaning trees”. At “One Mile Swamp” (knows as Clarence Corner) there were two leaning trees. When coming to these trees, teamsters knew to either turn right if travelling from Brisbane Town to Ipswich or left when doing the return trip.
Due to the boggy nature of the track, after heavy rain, “Bloggo” was changed to “Boggo”.
Dutton Park: The area of Dutton Park was named after Mr CB Dutton, who was the Secretary of Public Lands (1883-87). In the earlier days it was just called Bloggo. The cemetery was known as Dutton’s Park from the very beginning of it’s reservation.
Ekibin: (now part of Tarragindi) Ekibin was originally called Ekibbon. The Aborigines had called the creek “Yeekabin” (Yekibin-Yikibin), which meant “good eating place” as the creek had grasses whose roots were edible. The name was originally given to the Burnett Swamp area on Logan Road by the Hon. Thomas Blacket Stephens, who had established a fellmongers business there in 1862.
Fairfield: The Grimes family who emigrated from England in 1849 were successful farmers in the area and they named their farm “Fairfield” and eventually the whole area became known as Fairfield.
Moorooka: Moorooka is bisected by the road that now leads to Beaudesert – Beaudesert Road. It lies below Frog’s Rock and Toohey Mountain. Much of the area now developed used to be known as Pegg’s Paddock (a home at 16 Hillview Terrace is reported to be the first home in the sub-division of Pegg’s Farm).
To the Aborigines, Toohey Mountain looked like a big nose, so the word Moorooka is thought to be of aborigines origin – Moorooka meaning “big nose” or “iron bark”. There is no evidence to suggest that the Aborigines named the area. It is not known who originally named the area or when the name Moorooka first was used.
Rocklea: Rocklea got it’s name as a huge rock overlooked the water-hole. “Rocky Water Holes” that was it’s first name. The name, Rocklea was officially recorded on 9th July, 1884.
Tarragindi: This suburb’s name originated from Tarragindi Tussaroni, a Loyalty Islander blackbirder who worked in the Queensland canefields. Badly treated, he ran away and was found tired and hungry by Alfred Foote of Cribb and Foote of Ipswich. He took him home and for many years he worked for and was cared for by the Foote and the Grimes families, who were related. He helped Mr & Mrs WD Grimes clear their property at Sandy Creek. Mr Grimes asked Tarragindi what he should name the house. He replied “Call it Tarragindi”. It means ‘camp on the hill’. The area was officially named Tarragindi in 1931.
Tennyson: One of the most picturesque suburbs of Brisbane is Tennyson. Initially, it was named “Softstone” but later renamed Tennyson after the romantic English poet, Lord Tennyson. Who did the renaming is not known but many of the streets are named after characters in his poems. The main thoroughfare is King Arthur Terrace, and other streets are Camelot, Lancelot, Myla, Merlin, etc.
Weller’s Hill: Weller’s Hill is sometimes known as Weiller’s Hill. This suburb was named after Jacob Weller, who bought a portion of land on the hill from James Toohey in 1894. Weller was of German descent and his name was spelt in many different ways – Weller, Weiller, Wellier and Willer. It is possible that the German pronunciation of the name would account for the mixture of spellings. There seems little doubt that the name of the suburb was taken from an early settler who lived on the top of the hill, one Jacob Weller. It was not until 1948 that the district was officially knows as Weller’s Hill.
Yeerongpilly: The sandy fertile area of Yeerongpilly was also named from a native word – “YeerongPilli” of the Yaggara dialect. This word means “rain coming” according to Miss Petrie’s reminiscences of her father, Tom Petrie, who was a great authority on Aboriginal life, language and customs.
Yeronga: The Aborigines who lived in the area mostly along the heavily timbered banks of the river, had named the area “Yerongpa” which in their language means “sandy place”. The Yaggara dialect was from the Yerong Tribe. In Australian Aboriginal place names it means initiation or Bora Ring.
Source: Memories Along the Boggo Track, Annie MacKenzie, 1992 Available Brisbane City Council Libraries
Also worth reading: “Boggo Road Heritage Walk – Clarence Corner to Boggo Junction, Christopher Dawson 2007
This walk will take you through a landscape filled with 19th and early 20th century heritage as you walk along Annerley Road, formerly known as Boggo Road. Discover historic cemeteries, parks, prisons, hospitals, schools, churches, cinemas, bridges and hotels on one of Brisbane’s most fascinating heritage trails.
Attractions of Area:
- Brisbane River
- Brisbane Corso & lots of parks
- Toohey Forest
- The Gabba
- The Green Bridge to University of Queensland
- Tennyson Tennis Centre
- Southbank & QPAC
- Queensland Museum & State Library of Qld
- Convention Centre
- PACE (Pharmacy Australia Centre for Excellence)
- Boggo Road Goal & Urban village –incorporating Ecosciences precinct
- Yeronga Pool
- Princess Alexandra (PA)
- Junction Park & Buranda Primary
- Yeronga Primary & High Schools
- Wellers Hill & Moorooka Primary
- Brisbane State High
- St Sebastian’s & St Elizabeth’s
- Our Lady’s, Sheldon, Loreto & Villanova Colleges
- Churchie Anglican Church Grammar School
- Yeronga TAFE
- Buranda Centro
- Garden City
- Train & Bus – Buranda, Eastern & Boggo Rd Busways
- Bikeways to city & around the river suburbs & Southbank
- City Cats
- Easy access to northern & southern freeways
- Clem 7 Tunnel & M7 to airport
Clubs & Facilities:
- The Cricketers Club
- Brisbane Golf Club
- The Greek Club & Conference Centre
- Football Clubs – Souths Rugby League Club, Easts League Club
- Yeronga Services Club
- Bowls Clubs – Moorooka, Tarragindi, Yeronga
- Rotary Club of South Brisbane
- Rotaract Club of South Brisbane
- Zonta Brisbane South
- Snap Gym – Buranda; Clarks Lifestyle Centre - Tarragindi
Coffee Shops & Restaurants
- Dudley St Espresso & Collectables- Annerley
- Slinkys – Fairfield
- Evo Coffee & Anesis– Yeronga
- Leaf – Wellers Hill
- Coffee Club & lots more – West End
- French Twist – South Brisbane
- Mix of restaurants to suit all tastes – Indian, Thai, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Organic, Modern Australian, Korean….and more